

# This Week on the LPGA Tour and PGA TOUR Grant Thornton Invitational Tiburón Golf Club | Naples, FL | December 13-15, 2024

#### MEDIA AVAILABILITY SCHEDULE

(All times are EST and subject to change)

Wednesday, December 12 2:00 p.m. approx. – Rickie Fowler & Lexi Thompson 3:00 p.m. approx. – Tom Kim & Jeeno Thitikul

<u>Thursday, December 13</u> 3:00 p.m. approx. – Jason Day & Lydia Ko

#### **TOURNAMENT INFORMATION**

<u>Competition Format</u>: 16 teams consisting of two players, one LPGA Tour and one PGA TOUR; 54-holes, no cut

- Friday: Scramble
  - Each player hits a tee shot and then the team selects the ball to be used for the next stroke. From there, both players hit their next shots from that spot. This process continues until the ball is holed.
- Saturday: Foursomes
  - Each team's players alternate hitting shots with the same ball until the ball is holed. One player will tee off on the odd-numbered holes, and the other tees off on the even-numbered holes.
- Sunday: Modified Four-Ball
  - Both players tee off, and then they switch balls for their second shots and play that same ball until it is holed. The lower score of the partners is then counted as the team score for the hole.

Purse: \$4 million (\$2 million each Tour); winning team's portion is \$1 million (\$500,000 each)

#### Course History: Tiburón Golf Club

Located in Naples, Florida, Tiburón Golf Club features two 18-hole, Greg Norman-designed golf courses, The Gold and The Black. Tiburón's Gold Course opened in 1998 and the Black Course opened in 2001. The Gold Course hosts two professional events each year, the LPGA Tour's season ending CME Group Tour Championship and the joint LPGA Tour and PGA TOUR team event, the Grant Thronton Invitational. The PGA TOUR's QBE Shootout was formerly hosted on the Gold Course. The Chubb Classic, a Champions Tour Event, is hosted on the Black Course in February.

#### Tournament History: Grant Thornton Invitational

In its second year, the Grant Thornton Invitational is a mixed-team Challenge Season event that sees 16 LPGA Tour and 16 PGA TOUR professionals compete together in a unique co-sanctioned tournament. The three-day tournament showcases three different formats of team play and allows the 32-player field to compete for equal prize money and visibility. Lydia Ko and Jason Day won the inaugural event in 2023.

**Tournament Scoring Records:** \*All records are from the 2023 inaugural playing of the Grant Thornton Invitational

Scramble: 56 (-16), Nelly Korda & Tony Finau Foursomes: 66 (-6), Lydia Ko & Jason Day Modified Four-Ball: 60 (-12), Madelene Sagstrom & Ludvig Åberg

18 holes: 56 (-16), Nelly Korda & Tony Finau 36 holes: 124 (-20), Lydia Ko & Jason Day 54 holes: 190 (-26), Lydia Ko & Jason Day

## **ON-SITE COMMUNICATIONS TEAM**

Haley Peterson Specialist, PGA TOUR haleypeterson@pgatourhq.com +1 (559) 356-8802

Emily Carman Coordinator, LPGA Communications Emily.Carman@lpga.com +1 (714) 742-8301

John Bush Sr. Manager, PGA TOUR johnbush@pgatourhq.com +1 (904) 923-7419

Carly Lyvers Coordinator, LPGA Communications Carly.Lyvers@lpga.com +1 (386) 214-9105

## **QUICK LINKS**

Interview Transcripts LPGA Tour Online Media Center PGA TOUR Online Media Center Tournament Website

## SOCIAL MEDIA

LPGA Tour: @LPGA, @LPGAMedia (X), @lpga\_tour (Instagram, TikTok) PGA TOUR: @PGATOUR (X, Instagram, TikTok) Tournament: @gtinvitational (X), @grantthorntoninv (Instagram)

#### TV/STREAMING TIMES (All times EST)

Friday, December 13: 1:00-4:00 p.m. (Golf Channel/Digital/International) Saturday, December 14: 2:00-3:00 p.m. (Golf Channel/Digital/International) 3:00-5:00 p.m. (NBC, Peacock) Sunday, December 15: 1:00-2:00 p.m. (Golf Channel/Digital/International) 2:00-4:00 p.m. (NBC, Peacock)

## Past Champions and Runners-Up:

2023 – Jason Day & Lydia Ko, 190 (-26); Corey Conners & Brooke Henderson, 191 (-25)

## WHO'S IN THE FIELD

Teams (16):

- Céline Boutier and Matthieu Pavon
- Allisen Corpuz and Sahith Theegala
- Lauren Coughlin and Cameron Young
- Brooke Henderson and Corey Conners
- Megan Khang and Matt Kuchar
- Lydia Ko and Jason Day
- Nelly Korda and Daniel Berger
- Jennifer Kupcho and Akshay Bhatia
- Andrea Lee and Max Greyserman
- Mel Reid and Cameron Champ
- Gabriela Ruffels and Nick Dunlap
- Maja Stark and J.T. Poston
- Patty Tavatanakit and Jake Knapp
- Jeeno Thitikul and Tom Kim
- Lexi Thompson and Rickie Fowler
- Lilia Vu and Luke List

# 2024 LPGA Tour Champions (6):

Lauren Coughlin (CPKC Women's Open, ISPS Handa Women's Scottish Open), Lydia Ko (Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions, AIG Women's Open, Kroger Queen City Championship), Nelly Korda (LPGA Drive On Championship, FIR HILLS SERI PAK Championship, Ford Championship presented by KCC, T-Mobile Match Play presented by MGM rewards, The Chevron Championship, Mizuho Americas Open, The ANNIKA driven by Gainbridge at Pelican), Patty Tavatanakit (Honda LPGA Thailand), Jeeno Thitikul (Dow Championship, CME Group Tour Championship), Lilia Vu (Meijer LPGA Classic for Simply Give)

# 2024 PGA TOUR Winners (5):

Akshay Bhatia (Valero Texas Open), Nick Dunlap (The American Express, Barracuda Championship), Jake Knapp (Mexico Open at Vidanta), Matthieu Pavon (Farmers Insurance Open), J.T. Poston (Shriners Children's Open)

# Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings – Top 50 (13):

Nelly Korda (1), Lydia Ko (3), Jeeno Thitikul (4), Lilia Vu (5), Céline Boutier (8), Lauren Coughlin (15), Megan Khang (21), Brooke Henderson (25), Patty Tavatanakit (26), Maja Stark (27), Allisen Corpuz (35), Jennifer Kupcho (47), Gabriela Ruffels (49)

# Official World Golf Rankings – Top 50 (10):

Sahith Theegala (13), Tom Kim (21), Matthieu Pavon (30), Akshay Bhatia (31), Nick Dunlap (32), J.T. Poston (33), Jason Day (34), Cameron Young (38), Max Greyserman (39), Corey Conners (41)

## First-Time Participants (16):

Daniel Berger, Akshay Bhatia, Lauren Coughlin, Nick Dunlap, Max Greyserman, Tom Kim, Jake Knapp, Matt Kuchar, Jennifer Kupcho, Luke List, Matthieu Pavon, J.T. Poston, Gabriela Ruffels, Patty Tavatanakit, Jeeno Thitikul, Cameron Young

## Past Champions at Tiburon Golf Club (6):

Jason Day (2023 Grant Thornton Invitational, 2014 QBE Shootout), Lydia Ko (2023 Grant Thornton Invitational, 2014 & 2022 CME Group Tour Championship), Matt Kuchar (2013, 2016 & 2020 QBE Shootout), Sahith Theegala (2022 QBE Shootout), Jeeno Thitikul (2024 CME Group Tour Championship), Lexi Thompson (2018 CME Group Tour Championship) (2018 CME Group Tour Championship), Lexi Thompson (2018 CME Group Tour Championship) (2018 CME Group T

## 2024 Olympians (12):

Céline Boutier, Corey Conners, Jason Day, Brooke Henderson, Tom Kim, Lydia Ko, Nelly Korda, Matthieu Pavon, Maja Stark, Patty Tavatanakit, Jeeno Thitikul, Lilia Vu

## LPGA Tour & PGA TOUR Rookies (5):

Nick Dunlap, May Greyserman, Jake Knapp, Matthieu Pavon, Gabriela Ruffels